12" Vinyl Record's Front Jacket Cover
12" Vinyl Record's Front Jacket Cover

This Mortal Coil, Filigree & Shadow, 2 x 12" Vinyl Record, Double Album, 2 x LP

Your Price: $27.99
Retail Price:$32.99
You Save:$5.00(15%)
Now Shipping
Part Number:1223
You need to be a registered customer to order this product. Please Login to your account or click here to Register.
The inspiration of Ivo Watts-Russell, This Mortal Coil emerged in the early-80s when the post-punk scene was splintering in exciting new ways This Mortal Coil were not a band per se, never performing live, rather a collaboration of musicians, with both Ivo and co-producer John Fryer the only constant while the cast rotated. Experimentation was rife over three albums, they produced a heady mix of original works, musical links and reinterpretations of impeccably curated songs; helping to introduce a new audience to the talents of a previous generation, including Big Star, Tim Buckley, Roy Harper, Spirit, Gene Clark, Dino Valenti, Rain Parade, Emmylou Harris, Syd Barrett and Colin Newman, amongst others. Intriguing, almost amorphous, the ethereal qualities of This Mortal Coil were further enhanced by the stunning artwork that ran throughout the project -- with the mysterious figure of Pallas Citroën adorning each album cover, making her the project's de facto face. --- Released two years after their debut album, This Mortal Coil’s Filigree & Shadow (1986) was no less ornate than its predecessor. A double album of its four sides became a self-contained unit. The core expanded to add Simon Raymonde (Cocteau Twins) and arranger Martin Mc- Carrick, backing (with the help of members of Dif Juz and The Wolfgang Press) a variety of new singers Ivo handpicked including Alison Limerick, Dominic Appleton (Breathless), sisters Deirdre and Louise Rutkowski, Caroline Seaman (Heavenly Bodies) and Richenel. An intense record, The Quietus called it “tortured yet oddly euphoric... (music which) could easily rip flimsy souls apart.”

This Mortal Coil, Filigree & Shadow
Label: 4AD, DAD 3X05
Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Album, Deluxe Edition, Reissue, Remastered
Country: UK
Released: 07 Dec 2018
Genre: Electronic, Rock
Style: Modern Classical

Track listing...

Side A)

A1     Velvet Belly     1:20
A2     The Jeweller     3:16
A3     Ivy And Neet     4:49
A4     Meniscus     2:28
A5     Tears     0:22
A6     Tarantula     4:59

Side B)

B1     My Father     5:58
B2     Come Here My Love     3:42
B3     At First, And Then     1:59
B4     Strength Of Strings     4:41
B5     Morning Glory     2:57

Side C)

C1     Inch-Blue     1:08
C2     I Want To Live     4:05
C3     Mama K (1)     0:53
C4     Filigree & Shadow     1:20
C5     Firebrothers     3:54
C6     Thaïs (1)     1:09
C7     I Must Have Been Blind     3:30
C8     A Heart Of Glass     3:46

Side D)

D1     Alone     4:14
D2     Mama K (2)     0:34
D3     The Horizon Bleeds And Sucks Its Thumb     2:53
D4     Drugs     3:10
D5     Red Rain     3:53
D6     Thaïs (2)     3:13

©2018 4AD, New York City, New York, United States

Related Items

Recently Viewed Items