12" Vinyl Record's Front Jacket Cover
12" Vinyl Record's Front Jacket Cover

Pixies, Best Of Pixies (Wave Of Mutilation), 2 x 12" Vinyl Record, Double Album, 2 x LP

Your Price: $23.99
Retail Price:$27.99
You Save:$4.00(14%)
Now Shipping
Part Number:1247
You need to be a registered customer to order this product. Please Login to your account or click here to Register.
Pixies: Black Francis (vocals, guitar); Kim Deal (vocals, bass); Joey Santiago (guitar); David Lovering (drums). Additional personnel includes: Eric Drew Feldman (keyboards, synthesizer). Producers: Gary Smith, Steve Albini, Gil Norton, Pixies. Recorded between 1987 & 1991. One of the most revered college-radio bands of the late 1980s and early '90s, Pixies combined smart yet surreal pop with jagged, punk-influenced rock and, oddly enough, broke up just as the alternative music scene went mainstream. Fueled by Black Francis's oft-maniacal vocals and bizarrely catchy songs, the Boston-based quartet--rounded out by bassist/vocalist Kim Deal, guitarist Joey Santiago, and drummer David Lovering--consistently crafted fascinating albums during their brief but headstrong run. This 23-track collection, released in tandem with their highly anticipated 2004 reunion tour, captures many of their finest moments. Proceeding semi-chronologically, WAVE OF MUTILATION begins with the rambunctious ditty "Bone Machine." Other early gems include the strange anthem "Holiday Song," the anthropomorphic ode "Caribou," and Deal's signature song, "Gigantic." The band's beloved 1989 album, DOOLITTLE, is amply represented by seven songs, including the pleading "Hey," the mischievous "Monkey Gone to Heaven," the fierce "Debaser," and the pop-perfect "Here Comes Your Man." Latter-day tunes include rockers such as "Dig for Fire," "Alec Eiffel," and "Planet of Sound," along with two B-sides, "Into the White" and an excellent cover of Neil Young's "Winterlong." If you're looking for the Pixies motherlode, this is it.

Pixies, Best Of Pixies (Wave Of Mutilation)
Label: 4AD, CAD 2406
Format: 2 × Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Album
Country: US
Released: 2011
Genre: Rock
Style: Alternative Rock

Track listing...

Side A)

A1     Bone Machine    
A2     Nimrod's Son    
A3     The Holiday Song    
A4     Caribou    
A5     Broken Face    
A6     Gigantic    

Side B)

B1     Vamos    
B2     Hey    
B3     Monkey Gone To Heaven    
B4     Debaser    
B5     Gouge Away    
B6     Wave Of Mutilation    

Side C)

C1     Here Comes Your Man    
C2     Tame    
C3     Where Is My Mind?    
C4     Into The White    
C5     Velouria    

Side D)

D1     Allison    
D2     Dig For Fire    
D3     U-Mass    
D4     Alec Eiffel    
D5     Planet Of Sound    
D6     Winterlong

©2011 4AD, New York City, New York, United States

Related Items

Recently Viewed Items